Doing The Unthinkable - Trying FL Studio

Talk about music in general, share some inspiration or promote your music - anything goes.

Moderators: Christophe, Mark

Doing The Unthinkable - Trying FL Studio

Postby bones » Sun Dec 18, 2016 4:16 am

A couple of weeks ago I watched a video showing the new features in FL Studio 12 and some of it seemed pretty slick, so I thought I'd download the demo and have a look at it. As a former demo artist, I should have remembered how misleading a slick demo can be. I've probably spent three or four hours playing around with FL12 and it seems that none of the things I hated about it in 1999 have been fixed.

The workflow is so clunky and unintuitive. e.g. The mixer has 103 channels, even if you are only using four, and you still need to have the ancient Channels window there to work from (the window cannot be closed). That means that all this other stuff has just been bolted on to the original drum machine interface, instead of replacing it with something more useful for what FL has become. And each mixer channel has a label at the top, beside a long window, that says "Insert" and the channel number. You'd think that would be where you add insert effects, right? It's not, it's actually the default name for each channel and the window is a VU meter. I can't work out where or how you add insert effects. There are no tooltips to help you work out what any of the hundreds of visible controls are for and almost nothing is labelled, either. Depending on how you add a new instrument, it may or may not be automatically assigned to a mixer channel. Sometimes it will just exist there somewhere, without being tied to your mix. It's very weird.