DUNE sound design question

Share your technical insight with beginners in this area, or pick up techniques and tricks-of-the-trade posted by seasoned Orion users.

Moderators: Christophe, Mark

DUNE sound design question

Postby davidb63 » Thu Jan 03, 2013 4:24 am

Hello, I'm still learning my way around DUNE trying to make a patch where I have OSC1 being effected by the filter section which is being modulated by LFO1. I was hoping to have OCS2 not be effected by the filter. I tried assigning the LFO to the filter cutoff per voice in the matrix based on multiple voices in the unison section, but wasn't able to isolate OSC1 from OSC2 this way. Any Tips on this? TIA.
davidb63
Novice

Re: DUNE sound design question

Postby badshah » Thu Jan 03, 2013 5:48 am

A long times, I am waiting a official Vedio tutorial of Dune for Electro House and Trance But i can't ??????
badshah
Regular

Postby HYPNAGOGIA » Thu Jan 03, 2013 8:06 am

davidb63 wrote:Hello, I'm still learning my way around DUNE trying to make a patch where I have OSC1 being effected by the filter section which is being modulated by LFO1. I was hoping to have OCS2 not be effected by the filter. I tried assigning the LFO to the filter cutoff per voice in the matrix based on multiple voices in the unison section, but wasn't able to isolate OSC1 from OSC2 this way. Any Tips on this? TIA.

From my understanding, you're out of luck about that. DUNE doesn't really allow that kind of a separation because of its structure, as explained in the manual (figure 3.1, page 10).

Each oscillator can have a certain set of voices, and because DUNE is designed to fire all voices simultaneously per note, you're basically feeding them all to the filter.

My understanding of the ModMatrix is really basic, so perhaps someone with more understanding about source/destination/voices routing could explain. This is just my understanding of the structure.