Ghost frequency in FM oscillator

Post everything related to Synapse VST and Audio Unit plugins here.

Moderators: Christophe, Mark

Ghost frequency in FM oscillator

Postby Costis » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:21 pm

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to Dune 2 and loving it already.

While playing around with FM osc and watching results in a spectroscope I noticed that if both amounts for operators A and B are set to zero there is still an inaudible frequency (around -57 db) which is double the main one. This works with both algorithms. I would expect a pure sine there with no additional frequencies - is this intentional?

I can reproduce this with Melda's MAnalyzer and Robin Schmidt's Signal Analyzer.
Costis
Novice

Re: Ghost frequency in FM oscillator

Postby Mark » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:55 pm

There are residual signals coming through from operators A and B. You can check this by entering negative values in the mod matrix for FM Amt A/B with Const as source. I imagine there's a reason for it, suppress denormals/NaNs maybe? Anyway, as you say, inaudible, so, not critical.

Welcome to the forum btw :D
Mark

Postby Costis » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:11 pm

Thanks Mark!

Yeah funny you can indeed route consts at -100 to both amounts and its gone - so zero is not zero... I was guessing the reason is avoiding division by zero too.

While we are at it, how can one replicate the FM osc using sines and the matrix? When sending osc1 output to osc2 semi or fine in audio rate I am getting low frequencies below the central one which does not happen with the inbuilt FM oscillator. I used a high pass filter to get rid of them as a workaround. Basically I am trying to prove that Dune 2 can actually do 7 operator FM (contrary to some reviews that claim it has a basic FM implementation).
Costis
Novice

Postby Mark » Wed Jan 27, 2016 5:24 pm